Share us with your friends:

2020 Parish Council

Saint Anna Greek Orthodox Church 2020 Parish Council

A Parish Council is the administrative body of a Church community elected by its stewards for the purpose of working together with the Parish Priest or Proistamenos in fulfilling the mission and goals of that particular community. This brief description of the local governing body of a Parish also explains a fundamental aspect of the structure of the Orthodox Church.  Both clergy and laity are the “People of God,” who seek by the grace of the Holy Spirit to fulfill the mission entrusted to them to live and proclaim the Holy Gospel and the Holy Tradition of the Orthodox Church. Historically, clergy and laity have worked together in dealing with matters of the Church’s life. The Parish Council is an example of the synergy of clergy and laity; it is a vehicle for implementing the ongoing mission of the Church and planning the necessary strategies, policies, procedures, and activities that will enable the Parish to move forward in accomplishing God’s work.

2020 Parish Council (left to right in photo):  Cliff Gilman, John Kaldes (President), Bill Panayote (Corresponding Sec.), Dr. John Douvris (1st VP), Arge Mardakis (Recording Sec.), Stephen Kehayes (Asst. Treasurer), Father Anastasios Kousoulas, George Staikos (2nd VP), Lorraine Tsokas, Jorge Ferreira (Treasurer), Maria Sfondouris, Larry Tattoli, and John Coutsouridis.  Not in photo: Cesar Ticas.